“Doesn’t the Government give them tooth paste?”

Quite a few people we have met who do not have family members serving are always surprised that the enlisted active military (Soldiers, Air men, Sailors, Marines, Coasties) have to buy their own personal supplies (toiletries- shampoo, tooth paste, soap, shaving cream…..and goodies (snacks..) — they thought that these were issued to them— nope. Starting in Boot Camp–everything the enlisted has or wants– he/she paid for out of their own check.

We have suggestions of items that they might want/need — but that is not what is vitally important—what is really important is the connection back to home. The cards and letters that kids write– the notes of thanks, and American pride and acknowledgment and awareness and prayers that these enlisted men and women are serving far away from home-from their families and friends- that is more important than anything.

The care package, supplies and notes say loud and clear— from home with love. We did not forget you. We miss you. We can’t wait until you come. We are proud of you. We are grateful that you care enough about us to sacrifice your own freedoms to protect ours.

  • Kathy
    May 6th, 2007 at 3:03 pm · Edit

    Thank you Missy!

    Yes …many people who do not have a loved one or friend in service in the Middle East these days, do not realize this. It is a common mistake to think the Government supplies necessary personal hygiene items to the troops. Many deployed troops right now are our wonderful Reservists…
    This is a double burden for them and the families left behind. Their regular paycheck is gone and the service pay is minimal…
    To all who are reading this..When you see us outside your local supermarket or department store please try to help us help THEM! We are all working families trying to make ends meet and we understand not everyone can buy something for the Troops or donate money…
    That is okay! BUT! Everyone can write a little note to the troops, have your children draw a picture for them and say Thank You!…

    Pass the word along to your families, friends, neighbors and co-workers please! You can tell from the letters and emails the Troops take the time to write us ….a communication from home means the world to them! Let’s get behind our brave Americans serving in the Middle East and write a few words letting them know WE HAVE NOT FORGOTTEN THEM! Let’s make sure they do not feel alone and that they are loved and cared about. They volunteered for service to the United States and are following orders, doing what they were trained to do. Obey without questioning…
    Thank you in advance for the letters and cards you will send to them!
    Kathy

2 Responses to ““Doesn’t the Government give them tooth paste?””

  1. olotliny Says:

    “4 Angels”
    December 31st, 2006 — olotliny | Edit

    Ladies, let me say this will be a very heartfelt letter to you all so please look past the spelling and grammar lol. My name is SFC U., Dwayne C. 5th Squadron (Airborne), 73rd Cavalry (RECON), Fort Bragg, NC. and I am currently serving my fourth tour in Iraq and before you ask yes I’m tired. Seriously though ladies you are such an example of selfless service and devotion to sending love and caring to those of us here in Iraq and in Afghanistan. I have received a package from you and in addition to this letter I also wrote the family that sponsored me. I had to answer, because both your letter and the one from the family said the same thing. How we are heroes or how much we mean to you all. Thank you so very much for those kind words, but clearly you four ladies are the real heroes. You ladies have done something that a lot of us here feel we will never be able to repay. By that I mean you opened your hearts to us and are taking care of us in so many ways. I’ve seen young soldiers who didn’t really have a family this last Christmas and who wasn’t expecting anything being handed one of your packages. To open it and have something as simple as wet wipes really made their day. You see here where we are because we are so remote we do not have an exchange. Everyday items here i.e. toothpaste, wet wipes, tooth brush, etc mean an awful lot to us. A small bag of Cheetos is like gold here. DVD’s are all but worn out from being passed around and our big screen in the MWR is always crowded with soldiers. You four ladies really are angels and you have done such a wonderful thing. I hope this letter is seen by more of your volunteers and that they understand as you four that what you are doing means the world to us. I’m sorry if I’m saying the same thing over and over again It’s because I’m having a hard time trying to find strong enough words to say Thank You. I wish all of you well and please pass along to all how much we Paratroopers thank you. God Bless you all…

    SFC U., Dwayne C. HHT 5-73 Cavalry

  2. olotliny Says:

    Dear Angels,

    Just want to send an email of appreciation for the work that you all do. The troops here really appreciate the time that you guys give to make our deployment more bearable. My name is HM3 Liberty L. and I am a Petty Officer is the United States Navy. I arrived on Camp Fallujah about 4 days ago and was struggling to keep my morale above water (so to speak). One of my fellow sisters in the Navy received a care package from Operation Love Our Troops and passed it on to me due to the fact that she is on her way back to the states. When I opened the box and read the letter it brought tears to my eyes. I guess it’s just the fact that people I don’t even know are sending prayers, encouragement, and just basic necessities for life. And because someone shared the box with me, I shared with the other sailors in the clinic I work with. Sometimes troops all over the world feel that America has gotten so complacent in being safe, that the have forgotten about the men and women who are going above and beyond the call to duty. I can honestly say that Operation Love Our Troops have made me proud to be here and serve the people of this great country. It makes leaving friends, family, and loved one almost worth it!! I thank God for you and I will be praying for Him to bless you with everything you need to continue your goals and mission. God Bless You Angels.

    HM3 Liberty L.

    Petty Officer USN


Comments are closed.

